Sunday, August 28, 2011

Sister, Sister


Younger sisters are annoying. Everybody knows it and no one is afraid to say it. On TV, they copy what they see and steal things out of your room when you’re not home. This is where my life seems to be identical to what I see on TV. My little sister gets on my nerves, has taken clothes, make-up, stickers, etc from my room, and acts exactly the same as I did at her age. When I look at her, I see a lot of myself, which bothers me. As an older sister, I hoped that if she had seen the consequences of the mistakes I made in my past that she would steer clear of bad choices. There have been multiple times where she’s gotten in trouble for the same exact things I did at her age. Even though I try to change her, her style stays the same, annoying. I know she does things on purpose to piss people off and it really does work. She knows exactly what to say to push my buttons. She had the nerve to ask me,  “What happened to that other guy you were dating?” when my NEW boyfriend was sitting next to me. Knowing how to make situations awkward, she asks the most embarrassing questions in public settings or when her friends are around. She constantly comments on how I’ve let myself go. I know I’m not as small around the waste as I used to be but that’s what two kids back to back does to someone. She’s loud, obnoxious, rude, and annoying. She’s my little sister and I love her. My advice to everyone is to ignore. Younger sisters go through phases. I know for a fact that I annoyed my older brother. Hang in there, they’ll only be annoying until about their sophomore year in high school.


This has been a caustic comparison with Cristina. <3 subscribe and comment <3

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Oh, Brother!


Older brothers are supposed to take care of their younger siblings, especially if they’re girls. They are notorious for kicking all of their younger sister’s boyfriends’ asses. There’s nothing they won’t do to make their sisters feel comfortable. They give rides, lend money, and listen when they’re needed. They’re in tune with their emotions and know how to console loved ones. My brother, 25 with 3 kids, has always been there for me to talk to. However, I find myself to be considered the more “adult” one when it comes to maturity. Constant compliments from my mom, I am always compared to my brother and how much better off I am because of my boyfriend’s support. Being only 19 with 2 kids is tough for me and I think I would’ve held off on having kids if my brother had lived up to the stereotype and kicked a few guy’s asses along the way to my adulthood. I don’t regret having children so young, in fact, I feel they make me a stronger person and fuel my passions. A couple years back, I found myself lending money to my older brother for things like gas or junk food, understandable things. As our relationship grew, I bought him more expensive gifts on holidays and on his birthday. Never getting anything back from him, I realized my love for my older brother wasn’t being returned in my direction. Instead, he gave me the cold shoulder and insulted me any time I had conflicts with his girlfriend. I knew I had been replaced when I got scolded for calling her a bitch. Older brothers usually never put getting laid in front of their sisters, but mine did. My advice to everyone out there is to try to get along with your brothers! Because sometimes, they have a car and a license and you don’t. Don’t try to buy love you should be getting for free. My mistake was that I gave and gave and gave until I had no more to give and I wasn’t being thanked or appreciated for all I had done. If your brother loves and cares about you, he won’t become a backstabber, trash talker, or let anyone influence what he thinks about you.

This has been a caustic comparison with Cristina. <3 subscribe and comment <3

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Sister-In-Laws


Sister-in-laws are a complicated subject to discuss. It’s the same issues as mother-in-laws; you either hate them or love them. I have two sister-in-laws. One of them I can’t stand and the other I simply tolerate for the sake of the people surrounding us. I can’t reveal which is which but if they know any better, they’ll know exactly which one they are. My brother has a girlfriend and even though they aren’t married, I call her my sister-in-law because he’s tied down with three kids. My boyfriend has an older sister, one whom I share names with. So sister-in-laws are either best friends or worst enemies on shows. Movies try to make it quick and easy by mainly trying to stick to the best friend idea.  Neither of my sister-in-laws are my best friends. I talk to one more than the other, however. I’ve tried to get along with one but it always results in major backstabbing on her part and major trash talking on my part. That’s the sister-in-law that if anything were to ever happen to her, I really, genuinely would not give a shit. My other sister-in-law has come to me for advice and takes my word for a lot of things, something I would never do in return. I try to help her out as much as I can but it does get a bit frustrating when I’m dealing with some of the same issues. Now, on TV, I would have tried to break up my brother and his sister-in-law and tried to get my entire family to hate her. Needless to say, I didn’t do that. On TV, my boyfriend’s sister would have tried to break us up. This is where I can relate. The beginning of our entire relationship was us butting heads and her constantly badmouthing me to her parents. So on and so forth.. I cannot stand one sister-in-law. Anyone who’s so desperate to get their kid noticed by splashing pictures on everything they can get their hands on isn’t worth my time. I don’t talk to her. And my other sister-in-law is actually pretty cool. We’re almost nothing alike, yet we tolerate each other and get along, if not by force. My advice to everyone out there is to try to stay on peaceful terms. Starting a war with a sister-in-law will only end in tension amongst family, which is never good. Try to stay neutral and keep your head up high because the better person always walks away from drama.


This has been a caustic comparison with Cristina. <3 subscribe and comment <3

Brother-In-Laws


Brother-in-laws are usually portrayed to be bad influences on their married or unavailable brothers. In most movies and shows, they’re responsible for causing marital issues. Scenes of both borrowing money and not paying back, strip clubs, or drinking too much is what they’re known for. In my life, I only have one older brother-in-law and despite the fact that he drinks, he always seems to steer my boyfriend away from anything negative, actually fueling our relationship so that it betters. He’s only asked for money a few times and the sum was never more than $20. As a matter of fact, he was the only one who accepted me when I met my boyfriend’s family. With two younger brother-in-laws, I am at constant war with myself, debating whether or not I’m allowed to consider them annoying. I love my brother-in-laws like family and I’d be there if anything ever happened. For me, it’s simply easier to get along with male friends since females can hold grudges, anger easier, and can be straight out bitches. So, in shows and movies, brother-in-laws are bad influences OR they’re sleeping with their brother’s girl, two things that are not true in any sense of the word.  My advice to females who can’t stand their brother-in-laws is to sit down and talk to them. Maybe the reason for not liking them is because you don’t know them or don’t understand them. It would make a huge difference because then your partner will have their brother back without the fear of angering you. After all, it wouldn’t be fair to separate him from family.

This has been a caustic comparison with Cristina. <3 subscribe and comment <3

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Mother-In-Laws

Mother-in-laws are notorious on TV shows and movies for despising the "whore" that takes away her pride and joy, her son. They never think the woman their son chooses is good enough for him. In my opinion, they would trust their son's judgement if they didn't have issues about whether or not they raised their son correctly. My mother-in-law always seems to want to critique the way I raise my son. Every time we go to her house for a visit, she tries to instill different values in him. Being nothing alike, my mother-in-law and I do not see eye to eye. There is almost no trust in our relationship and not much of a relationship at all. In movies with happy endings, the mother-in-law finally accepts her new daughter-in-law into her life and admits that she never thought that her son made the right choices about women but somehow this girl was different. Even in TV shows, it's usually the male figure that has issues with his mother-in-law because she's crazy and annoying. In my life, my mother-in-law and I try to get along for the sake of my boyfriend, who absolutely adores my mother since he can talk to her without judgement, something he can't do with his mom. With us, it seems, our lives are so far from those portrayed in the entertainment business, that we almost try to force ourselves to be like them, which ends in complete and utter disasters. Truth is, I love my mom and don't think that I need another one in my life. To me, my mother-in-law is and always will be an obstacle in my relationship. I think my boyfriend considers my mom as a newfound mother figure, which irritates me. The mother-in-law issue can go either way. There is no inbetween when it comes to this relationship. It's either we hate each other or we consider our mother-in-laws our new best friend. I, however, simply tolerate and ignore. My advice to every other teen mom out there is to try to get along, only because it definitely benefits relationships to last longer. If you can't get along, then tolerate and ignore. Either way, if your guy loves you, he'll stay.

This has been a caustic comparison with Cristina. <3 subscribe and comment <3